Regional Magnetic Conditions and Forecasts

Regions

  1. Eastern North America
  2. Southern Prairies
  3. South Western Canada
  4. Northern Prairies
  5. Eastern Auroral
  6. Central Auroral
  7. Western Auroral

Information

Status Reports

The Reports for the several geographic regions are derived from actual measurements made at magnetic observatories situated in each of the regions. In each case, data are telemetered from the observatory to headquarters in Ottawa, where the data are processed to produce a Kr index to characterize the level of magnetic disturbance measured during the past hour.

For qualitative comparison, the words describing the activity levels used in other forecast formats in this web site are included. Colours in the display panels change according to the level of the magnetic activity and Kr index, ranging from green, through yellow, amber, orange, to red.

Regional Forecasts

The Forecasts are provided as summaries of the expected activity during the next 3 hours and during the following 3 hours, for each of the regions. Again, for ease of comparison with other sources of information, they are presented in terms of the Kr index. The forecasts are updated every fifteen minutes. The words describing the activity levels and the panel colour scheme used for the Status Reports also apply to the Forecast panels. When appropriate, Major Storm Watches are issued, indicating that conditions are such that Major Storm activity could occur during the time interval. When a watch is in effect, the upper part of the appropriate panel is coloured purple, and a Storm Watch message appears below the Forecast panels.

Kr Index

The Kr index is approximately equivalent to the local K index, but whereas the true K index is not routinely available until the day after data are measured (and then only for three observatories), the Kr index is available almost immediately. The two indices can differ slightly at low levels of activity but are not significantly different at high levels of activity. There are nine levels in the Kr index, as in the K index. Whereas the K index is defined over an interval of 3 hours, the Kr index is defined over an interval of 1 hour. It is derived from the running hourly range computed from the incoming observatory data, and is equivalenced to the K scale.

Conditions magnétiques régionales et prévisions

Régions

  1. Est de l'Amérique du Nord
  2. Prairies du Sud
  3. Sud-Ouest du Canada
  4. Prairies du Nord
  5. Aurorale de l'Est
  6. Aurorale Centrale
  7. Aurorale de l'Ouest

Information

Rapports sur la situation

Les rapports de plusieurs régions géographiques proviennent de mesures réelles prises aux observatoires magnétiques situés dans chacune de ces régions. Ces données sont toutes transmises au Centre national d'Ottawa où elles subissent un traitement pour produire un indice Kr permettant de caractériser le niveau de perturbation magnétique mesuré au cours des dernières heures.

À des fins de comparaison qualitative, on a inclus les termes décrivant les niveaux d'activités utilisés dans d'autres formats sur ce site Internet. Les couleurs figurant dans les tableaux d'affichage changent selon le niveau d'activité magnétique et l'indice Kr : du vert, au jaune, jaune doré, orange et enfin au rouge.

Prévisions régionales

Les prévisions sont présentées sous forme de résumés de l'activité prévue, dans chaque région, au cours des 3 prochaines heures et des 3 heures suivantes. Afin de pouvoir les comparer facilement avec d'autres sources d'information, elles sont présentées à l'aide de l'indice Kr. Les prévisions sont mises à jour toutes les quinze minutes. Les termes décrivant les niveaux d'activité et la gamme de couleurs du tableau d'affichage sont les mêmes que ceux utilisés dans les rapports sur la situation. Si besoin est, on lance des avis de veilles météorologiques en prévision de grosses tempêtes, ce qui indique que les conditions sont telles qu'une grosse tempête pourrait se lever dans un intervalle de temps donné. Lorsqu'une veille est en cours, la zone supérieure du panneau d'affichage est de couleur pourpre, et un avis de veille de tempête apparaît au-dessous des panneaux des prévisions.

Indice Kr

L'indice Kr correspond à quelques détails près à l'indice K local. Cependant, alors que l'indice K réel n'est disponible que le jour suivant celui où les données ont été mesurées (et ce, uniquement pour trois observatoires), l'indice Kr est disponible presque immédiatement. Les deux indices diffèrent parfois légèrement lorsque le niveau d'activité est faible, mais ils sont à peu près identiques lorsque le niveau d'activité est élevé. L'indice Kr compte neuf niveaux tout comme l'indice K. Alors que l'indice K est défini sur un intervalle de 3 heures, l'indice Kr est déterminé sur un intervalle d'une heure. Il émane des plages horaires calculées continuellement à partir des données provenant des observatoires; leur équivalence est établie à l'échelle de l'indice K.