Short Term Magnetic Review and Forecast

Tabular (zones)

Tabular representation of the forecast for the polar cap, auroral, and sub-auroral zones.

Map (zones)

Map of the forecast for the polar cap, auroral, and sub-auroral zones.

Print version (zones)

Printable version of the forecast for the polar cap, auroral, and sub-auroral zones.

Review and Forecast (zones)

Hourly ranges of the review and forecast for the polar cap, auroral, and sub-auroral zones.

Review and Forecast (observatories)

Hourly ranges of the review and forecast for all Natural Resources Canada magnetic observatories.

Review and Forecast (data)

An accessible HTML version of the hourly ranges of the review and forecast for the polar cap, auroral zone, sub-auroral zones, and all Natural Resources Canada magnetic observatories

Description

Short Term Hourly Range Activity Levels (nT)
Zone Quiet Unsettled Active Stormy Major Storm
Polar Cap 0 - 50 50 - 100 100 - 180 180 - 600 600+
Auroral Zone 0 - 90 90 - 170 170 - 300 300 - 1000 1000+
Sub-Auroral Zone 0 - 30 30 - 50 50 - 90 90 - 300 300+
Map showing the location of magnetic activity zones in Canada.  The auroral zone is a band across the Hudson Bay and the Yukon.  North of that is the polar cap.  South of the auroral zone is the sub-auroral zone.

The levels of geomagnetic field activity, or disturbance, currently used in the short-term forecasts are labelled qualitatively for general usage. For each of the three major zones (subauroral, auroral, polar cap), the range of activity typically experienced in the zone is subdivided into five classifications: quiet, unsettled, active, stormy, major storm. The actual boundaries in terms of field intensity vary from zone to zone. This is because, for a given global state of the magnetic field, the auroral zone activity tends to be more intense than that in the polar cap and the subauroral zone. There are many measures of magnetic activity, but we use a simple one that can be determined extremely quickly and that is quite sufficient for this purpose. We consider how much the intensity changes during an hour (ie maximum value - minimum value), known as the hourly range. During an interval of several hours, we consider the median and maximum hourly ranges. The observed (forecast) median range provides the main review (forecast) message, while the maximum observed (forecast) range provides the supplementary review (forecast) message. The intensities are based on measurements derived from representative magnetic observatories in each zone (units are nanoteslas, nT)

For the benefit of those users who need to relate to the Kp index, we provide the following equivalences, which apply to all three of the zones used in our forecasts. In the diagram, the top layer indicates our forecast levels, the second and third layers indicate the Kp index and its subdivisions. It should be noted that the Kp index is defined for 3-hour intervals.

Kp Diagram.  Description follows.
  • Activity level quiet is equivalent to Kp values from 0 to 3 minus
  • Activity level unsettled is equivalent to Kp values from 3 to 4 minus
  • Activity level active is equivalent to Kp values from 4 to 5 minus
  • Activity level stormy is equivalent to Kp values from 5 to 7
  • Activity level major storm is equivalent to Kp values from 7 plus to 9

Some information on the Kp index can be found at the following external links:

Rapport et prévision à court terme

Tabulaire (zones)

Représentation tabulaire de la prévision de la calotte polaire, la zone aurorale, et la zone sub-aurorale.

Carte (zones)

Carte de la prévision de la calotte polaire, la zone aurorale, et la zone sub-aurorale.

Version imprimable (zones)

Version imprimable de la prévision de la calotte polaire, la zone aurorale, et la zone sub-aurorale.

Rapport et Prévision (zones)

Les plages horaires du rapport et prévision de la calotte polaire, la zone aurorale, et la zone sub-aurorale.

Rapport et Prévision (observatoires)

Les plages horaires du rapport et prévision pour tous les observatoires magnétiques maintenu par Ressources naturelles Canada.

Rapport et Prévision (données)

Une version HTML accessible des plages horaires du rapport et prévision pour la callote polaire, la zone aurorale, le zone sub-auroral et tous les observatoires magnétiques maintenu par Ressources naturelles Canada.

Description

Niveaux des plages horaires de l'activité géomagnétique à court terme (nT)
Zone Calmes Agitées Actives Orageuses Orages Majeur
Calotte Polaire 0 - 50 50 - 100 100 - 180 180 - 600 600+
Zone Aurorale 0 - 90 90 - 170 170 - 300 300 - 1000 1000+
Zone Sub-Aurorale 0 - 30 30 - 50 50 - 90 90 - 300 300+
Carte montrant la localisation des zones d'activité magnétique au Canada. La zone aurorale est une bande qui croise la baie d'Hudson et du Yukon. Au nord il y a la calotte polaire. Au sud de la zone aurorale est la zone sub-aurorale.

Les niveaux d'activité, ou de perturbations, du champ géomagnétique, actuellement utilisés dans les prévisions à court terme, sont classés de manière qualitative pour l'usage général. Pour chacune des trois grandes zones (zone sub-aurorale, zone aurorale et calotte polaire), les niveaux d'activité qui surviennent couramment dans la zone sont répartis en cinq catégories: calme, agité, actif, orageux, orage majeur.Les frontières réelles selon l'intensité du champ varient d'une zone à l'autre. Cela s'explique en raison du fait que, pour un état planétaire donné du champ magnétique, l'activité dans la zone aurorale tend à être plus intense que dans la zone de la calotte polaire et dans la zone sub-aurorale. Il existe de nombreuses mesures de l'activité magnétique, mais nous en utilisons une simple qui peut être déterminée extrêmement rapidement et qui convient à cette fin. Nous considérons les variations de l'intensité pendant une heure (valeur maximale - valeur minimale), connues sous le nom de plage horaire. Pendant un intervalle de plusieurs heures, nous examinons les plages horaires médianes et maximums. La plage médiane observée/prévue donne le message de révision/prévision principal, alors que la plage maximale observée/prévue donne le message de révision/prévision supplémentaire. Les intensités sont fondées sur des mesures obtenues à partir d'observatoires magnétiques représentatifs dans chaque zone. L'unité employée est le nanotesla (nT).

Pour ceux qui désirent se rapporter aux indices KP, nous avons fourni les équivalences suivantes qui s'appliquent pour les trois zones utilisées dans nos prédictions. Le diagramme est divisé en trois couches, celle du haut indique les niveaux prédits, la deuxième et la troisième indiquent l'indice KP et ses subdivisions. Veuillez noter que l'indice KP est défini pour une période de trois heures.

Diagramme de Kp.  Description suit.
  • Niveau d'activité calme est équivalent à aux indices KP de 0 à 3 moins
  • Niveau d'activité agitée est équivalent à aux indices KP de 3 à 4 moins
  • Niveau d'activité active est équivalent à aux indices KP de 4 à 5 moins
  • Niveau d'activité orageuse est équivalent à aux indices KP de 5 à 7
  • Niveau d'activité orage majeur est équivalent à aux indices KP de 7 plus à 9

De l'information sur l'indice KP peut être obtenue à partir des liens suivants: