Geomagnetic Effects on Communication Cables

Introduction

The telegraph was the first man-made system to involve the use of long electrical conductors and consequently was the first such system to be affected by magnetic disturbances. In the history of these effects there are many accounts of the telegraph system being unusable when aurora were observed overhead. There are even accounts of telegraph engineers using the "celestial power" associated with the aurora to send messages.

In the 20th century the technology for cable communications changed but all cables have been affected by the induced voltages produced by geomagnetic disturbances.

Early Effects

In the early days of the telegraph, a variety of methods were used for recording the signal transmitted over the wires. Bain's "chemical telegraph" used specially prepared paper: current from a stylus caused a chemical reaction leaving a coloured mark on the paper. During the magnetic storm of February 19, 1852, the current increased so much that a "flame of fire" followed the pen and set fire to the paper.

The early phone system had ground connections only through lightning protection devices at the ends of the lines. The breakdown voltage of these devices was higher than would be produced during most geomagnetic disturbances. However, during the magnetic disturbance on March 24, 1940, phone communications in the US were disrupted and voltages in excess of 500 V were thought to have occurred. In Sweden, several magnetic storms produced voltages large enough to start arcing in the carbon protectors. Once started, the arc continued even while the voltage began to decrease and the carbon protectors were heated to such an extent that they caught fire.

How Magnetic Storms Affect Cable Systems

The diagram shows the power feed for a submarine cable.  Power supplies at either end of the cable drive an electric current along the cable that powers the repeaters.

In the twentieth century open wire systems were replaced by coaxial cables. The introduction of coaxial cables increased the bandwidth of communication systems but required repeater amplifiers to compensate for the cable losses. These repeaters are connected in series with the centre conductor of the cable and are powered by a direct current supplied from the terminal stations at the ends of the cable. The varying magnetic field that occurs during a geomagnetic disturbance induces a voltage directly into the centre conductor of a coaxial cable. This voltage will add to or subtract from the voltage coming from the cable power supply.

Effects on Continental Cable Systems

On 4 August, 1972, an outage of the L4 coaxial cable system in the mid-western US occurred during a major geomagnetic disturbance. An examination of this disturbance showed that, at the time of the outage, the Earth's magnetic field had been severely compressed by the impact of high-speed particles from the Sun.

The resulting magnetic disturbance had a peak rate of change of 2200 nT/min, observed at the Geological Survey of Canada's Meanook Magnetic Observatory, near Edmonton, and a rate of change of the magnetic field at the cable location estimated at 700 nT/min. The induced electric field at the cable was calculated to have been 7.4 V/km, exceeding the 6.5 V/km threshold at which the line would experience a high current shutdown.

Effects on Submarine Cable Systems

During the magnetic storm of February 10, 1958, transatlantic communication from Clarenville, Newfoundland, to Oban, Scotland proceeded as alternately loud squawks and faint whispers as the naturally induced voltage acted with or against the cable supply voltage.

Effects on Fibre Optic Cables

New submarine cables are using optical fibres to carry the signals, but there is still a conductor through the cable to carry the power to the repeaters. At the time of the March 1989 storm, a new transatlantic telecommunications fibre-optic cable was in use. It did not experience a disruption, but large induced voltages were observed on the power supply cables. Future cables, because of improvements in the fibre optics, may use fewer repeaters and require a lower driving voltage. However, downsizing the power feed equipment without taking account of the induced voltages may leave future systems more vulnerable to geomagnetic effects.

Effets géomagnétiques sur les câbles de communication

Introduction

Le télégraphe a été le premier système artificiel nécessitant l'emploi de longs conducteurs électriques et par conséquent fut le premier système à être affecté par des perturbations magnétiques. Dans l'histoire des ces effets, on fait beaucoup référence à des systèmes télégraphiques qui sont devenus inutilisables lorsqu'un aurore était visible dans le ciel. Même que certaines références mentionnent que des ingénieurs en télégraphie utilisaient le " Pouvoir céleste" associé à l'aurore pour envoyer des messages.

Au 20ième siècle, la technologie des câbles de communication a changé; mais tous les câbles ont été affectés par des courants induits géomagnétiquement.

Les premiers effets

Durant les premières années du télégraphe, on a eu recours à diverses méthodes pour enregistrer le signal transmis le long des fils. Le «télégraphe chimique» de Bain utilisait du papier spécialement préparé : le courant émanant d'un stylet provoquait une réaction chimique, laissant une trace colorée sur le papier. Mais au cours de l'orage magnétique du 19 février 1852, le courant s'est tellement intensifié qu'une «flamme» suivait le stylet et a enflammé le papier.

Les premiers systèmes téléphoniques n'étaient munis de prises de masse que par l'intermédiaire de dispositifs de protection contre la foudre installés aux extrémités des lignes. La tension de claquage de ces dispositifs était supérieure à celle engendrée pendant la plupart des perturbations magnétiques. Toutefois, au cours de l'orage magnétique du 24 mars 1940, les communications téléphoniques aux États-Unis ont été perturbées; on estime que la tension s'est élevée à plus de 500 volts. En Suède, plusieurs orages magnétiques ont fait augmenter la tension au point de provoquer l'apparition d'arcs électriques dans les dispositifs protecteurs en carbone. Une fois amorcé, l'arc s'est maintenu, même lorsque la tension a commencé à diminuer. Les dispositifs protecteurs en carbone se sont échauffés à un point tel qu'ils ont pris feu.

Comment les orages magnétiques affectent les système de câbles

Le diagramme montre l'alimentation pour un câble sous-marin. Les alimentations de courant à chaque extrémité du câble fournit un courant électrique le long du câble qui alimente les répéteurs.

Au vingtième siècle, les fils nus ont été remplacés par des câbles coaxiaux. Leur introduction a permis d'accroître la largeur de bande des systèmes de communication, mais exige l'emploi d'amplificateurs de répétition pour compenser l'affaiblissement du signal dans le câble. Ces répéteurs sont montés en série avec le conducteur central du câble et sont alimentés par un courant direct à partir des stations situées aux extrémités du câble. Lors d'une perturbation géomagnétique, le changement du champ magnétique induit un voltage directement dans le conducteur central du câble coaxial. Ce voltage va s'additionner ou se soustraire au voltage venant de la source d'alimentation du câble.

Effets sur les câbles continentaux

Le 4 août 1972, une coupure dans le système de câbles coaxiaux L4 dans la mi-ouest américaine a eu lieu pendant une forte perturbation magnétique. L'étude de celle-ci a révélé qu'au moment de la coupure, le champ magnétique terrestre avait été fortement comprimé par l'impact des particles rapide venant du soleil.

La perturbation magnétique résultante a présenté un taux de variation maximal de 2 200 nT/min, observé à l'observatoire magnétique de Meanook, de la Commission géologique du Canada, près d'Edmonton. Le taux de variation du champ magnétique à l'emplacement du câble a été évalué à 700 nT/min. On estime que le champ électrique induit dans le câble était de 7,4 V/km, ce qui était supérieur au seuil de 6,5 V/km de coupure en cas de courant excessif.

Effets sur les câbles sous-marins

Pendant l'orage magnétique du 10 février 1958, la communication transatlantique entre Clarenville à Terre-Neuve, et Oban en Écosse, a pris successivement la forme de forts cris rauques et de faibles chuchotements selon que la tension induite naturellement agissait avec ou contre la tension d'alimentation du câble.

Effets sur les câbles des fibres optiques

Les nouveaux câbles sous-marins utilisent des fibres optiques pour acheminer les signaux, mais il y a encore dans le câble un conducteur qui alimente les répéteurs. Au moment de l'orage de mars 1989, un nouveau câble à fibres optiques de communication transatlantique était déjà en service. Son fonctionnement n'a pas été perturbé, mais de fortes tensions induites ont été observées sur les câbles d'alimentation. Grâce à l'amélioration des fibres optiques, les câbles de l'avenir nécessiteront peut-être moins de répéteurs et une tension motrice plus faible. Toutefois, si on réduit la taille de l'équipement d'alimentation sans prendre en compte les tensions induites, les systèmes de l'avenir risquent d'être plus vulnérables aux effets géomagnétiques.